• horoscopes

    Love & General Daily, Weekly, Monthly, 2019 Horoscopes

    How do the stars affect your romantic life? Come to check our daily horoscopes!


    Learn about a new dimension of your personality with Chinese zodiac sign meanings here!

  • Zodiac signs compatibility


    Check the zodiac signs compatibility with your partner using Sun signs for free!

  • Horoscope compatibility


    12 FREE Astrology Calculations, Charts, and Reports

The Meaning of the Houses in Astrology


In astrology the houses are very important. They are also different from planets or zodiac signs but they still have a great effect on us. Astrological houses tell us how you will behave in your life and how you interact with those around you.

There are 12 houses in astrology, just as there are 12 zodiac signs.

The First House: The First House rules our self and our spirit. It is linked to Aries the Ram, the first sign of the zodiac. It rules everything that is a ‘first’ in our lives so anything that is a beginning or a first impression.

The Second House: The Second House is associated with finance. It is concerned with how we manage our money and how much it matters to use. It is linked to Taurus which is the sign of the Bull and is often associated with material gain.

The Third House: The Third House is concerned with the world around us, like family, friends, and co-workers. It is tied to Gemini which rules communication like the internet, cell phones, and social media.

The Fourth House: The Fourth House relates to the sign of Cancer and mother figures. It is a family centered house and also links to our childhoods.

The Fifth House: The Fifth House corresponds to creative energy and hobbies. It related to the sign of the lion, Leo and is also linked to your love life and luck. This house is focused inward on the self and how you present that to others.

The Sixth House: The Sixth House is all about our responsibilities and our obligations in life. It corresponds to Virgo which in turn rules heath, illness, and medicine.

The Seventh House: The Seventh House is opposite to the first house on a natal chart. As the first house rules the self, the seventh house relates to other people around us. It corresponds to Libra, the Scales, and rules things such as marriage contracts.

The Eighth House: The Eighth House relates to the sign of Scorpio and links to birth and death. This does not however mean death in the physical sense, but more the phases of our life and the way in which we are transformed.

The Ninth House: In astrology, the Ninth House is closely linked to spirituality and philosophical pursuits. It also corresponds to Sagittarius, the Archer who is in turn a natural philosopher. It links in with concepts like education, law, and religion.

The Tenth House: The Tenth House is focused on career and ambition. The sign associated with this house is Capricorn who is the career driven patriarch of the zodiac. The Tenth House is related to how we appear in public.

The Eleventh House: The Eleventh House links to the sign of Aquarius, the Water Bearer. Aquarius is all about groups and collaborative energy rather than the individual, so this house focuses on concepts like humanitarian work and charities. It is opposite to the Fifth House which rules the self.

The Twelfth House: The Twelfth House relates to Pisces. They both have the same water energy and represent our hidden depths or the parts of ourselves that we don’t want to show others.